Lightship Overfalls

Lightship Overfalls

Launched from a Maine shipyard in 1938 as part of the U.S. Coast Guard lightship fleet, this 114-foot diesel-powered vessel served primarily off the coasts of Massachusetts and Connecticut, guiding ships with a beacon mounted atop its central mast. After being decommissioned in 1973, it was acquired by the Lewes Historical Society and is now undergoing restoration by the Overfalls Maritime Museum Foundation. Today, the ship is berthed along the Lewes-Rehoboth Canal on Front Street, where it proudly serves as a floating museum and a tribute to America’s maritime heritage. 


300 Pilottown Rd Lewes, DE
(302) 644-8050