Harbor of Refuge Lighthouse

Harbor of Refuge Lighthouse

The National Harbor of Refuge Breakwater was constructed over a five-year period from 1897 to 1901. This 1.5-mile-long stone wall was built to accommodate deeper-draft vessels that could not benefit from the protection of the shallower Delaware Breakwater. Designed to shield both wooden sailing ships and steel steamships from powerful Atlantic nor’easters and hurricanes, the breakwater became a vital refuge for maritime traffic. In 1908, the U.S. Lighthouse Service established the first Harbor of Refuge Lighthouse at the southern end of the breakwater. The original wooden structure, however, proved unsuitable for the harsh sea conditions and was dismantled in 1925. It was replaced in 1926 by the current steel caisson lighthouse, which stands 76 feet tall and features a distinctive black-and-white color scheme. Today, the Harbor of Refuge Lighthouse remains an active aid to navigation and is undergoing restoration by the Delaware River & Bay Lighthouse Foundation, preserving its legacy for future generations. 


Water Lewes, DE
(302)644-7046